萨迦第五祖 

多滚·究吉·八思巴

多滚·究吉·八思巴简介

多衮·究吉·八思巴(藏:怙主·法·圣者)于阴木羊年(公元1235年)诞生,出生时伴有诸多祥瑞。父亲是索南·坚赞(藏:福德·胜幢);母亲是玛吉·贡噶·吉(藏:(诸佛圣者们)唯一的母亲·庆喜·福大)。出生时“八思巴”被取名为罗珠·坚赞(藏:智慧·胜幢,又译为“慧幢”)。他也是萨迦四祖萨迦·班智达·贡嘎·坚赞 (藏:学者·欢喜·胜幢)的侄子。

 

罗珠·坚赞自幼在无师自通的情况下,显示了他出色的智慧和在各领域的丰富知识,尤其是对不同经文的读写能力。例如:在三岁时已经能凭记忆背诵《喜金刚仪轨》的详尽版本。在场的每个人无不惊叹并纷纷赞叹,认为他是一个真正的“八思巴”(藏:圣者)。自此以后,他以“八思巴”的名号闻名遐迩、众所周知。 

无论是出访,还是在中原居住,八思巴一直随侍其伯父萨迦·班智达。直到十七岁时,八思巴代表伯父独自前往蒙古。(当时忽必烈王子送来书信迎请萨迦·班智达前往蒙古,但由于萨迦·班智达病重无法成行,由侄子代表前往会晤忽必烈。)萨迦·班智达很高兴八思巴已经掌握了诸外和内的金刚乘教义。他赠予八思巴象征宣扬佛法的吉祥白螺和化缘钵。同时萨迦·班智达把弟子们托付给八思巴并叮嘱他说:“为了利益更多众生以及实现你往昔的承诺誓言,现在是你弘扬正法的时候了。” 随后,萨迦·班智达圆满了佛行事业的愿,示现了圆寂。于是,八思巴在十七岁那年成了第七任萨迦·赤津法王,也是萨迦第五祖。

萨迦·赤千法王:金刚乘首次在蒙古皇朝建立的因缘

后来,八思巴法王应当时还未称皇的忽必烈之邀会面。忽必烈的妃子--察必皇后对八思巴具有非常强烈的信心,然而那时的忽必烈更多的把八思巴当作一个知识渊博、十分聪慧的年轻人。察必皇后祈请八思巴给予她喜金刚灌顶。察必获授灌顶后对上师生起了无比坚定的信心,于是她劝说忽必烈也同样祈请喜金刚灌顶。

 

忽必烈问八思巴:“我若要获得这个灌顶,需要遵守什么誓言?”八思巴回道:“如果你接受了灌顶,就必须尊重上师以及遵照他所给的任何指示,如同你对头上的皇冠那般尊重。” 听后,忽必烈宣称:“我是皇不能听命于你。我不要获授灌顶。” 察必是个聪慧和做事有能力的人,她向忽必烈建议:“其实有个可行的方法。但凡是宗教仪式,八思巴喇嘛(上师)就坐在较高的法座。倘若是世俗仪式,皇上应当坐在较高的皇座。有关藏地的事务,我们应该听从八思巴喇嘛的指示;至于其他事务,喇嘛不应该干涉参与。通过这样的安排,陛下可以护持接受灌顶后的三昧耶(梵:接受密法后的誓言戒律)。”

 

 

 

八思巴一共授予忽必烈汗王、皇族和内部的亲侍三次喜金刚灌顶,每次不超过二十五人(根据萨迦传承的传统规矩,喜金刚灌顶每次只限授予不多于二十五名从未获授此本尊灌顶的弟子)。在第一次的灌顶,忽必烈将大部分的藏区供养八思巴。在几年后进行的第二次灌顶,他则把整个藏地供养八思巴。当时的中原地区人口稠密,但凡身有残疾的百姓都不让活下来。因为人口众多,相对的由于残疾而丧命的人数也随之变多。作为第三次灌顶的供养,忽必烈立下誓言废除这条例。大乘佛教之前已传入蒙古皇朝和中原,而金刚乘则是通过这方式首次在蒙古皇朝传入和建立。

 

 

虽然忽必烈一家从八思巴领受了许多佛法教义,但是他的信心不比察必皇后。于是察必亲自祈请八思巴:“喇嘛仁波切,为了稳固汗王对您和萨迦教法的信心,请示现神变。如果不这样做,恐怕汗王的信心会退失。”在察必的再三坚持祈请下,八思巴通过展示神通(等适合忽必烈根基和因缘的手段)来确立了忽必烈对佛法的(不共)信心。八思巴让人用锋利的剑割下自己的头和四肢,当下在割断处的空间分别显示出五方佛及其净土。(八思巴的声音响起,授记在场见到五方佛和五大净土者,当下发愿的话临终就可以往生到对应的佛土、觐见对应的佛陀,忽必烈和在场众人大为震动。忽必烈看到血流满地惊惧地说:“请上师收回神变!朕对上师信心具足,这世上不可能有比上师示现的更神奇的神变了。朕心中剧痛,实在不忍继续看到上师流血。”于是八思巴收回了神变。)

 

 

八思巴在二十五岁时被忽必烈汗封为帝师(国师)。当皇帝忽必烈提议下令其他所有宗派改宗为萨迦时,八思巴法王将所有的宗派比喻为不可或缺的四个桌腿,以此来祈请忽必烈支持、保护和弘扬所有的教派。八思巴对当时所有教派都有很大恩德。

 

八思巴后来把佛法传遍藏地、中原和蒙古,也成为了四十万僧侣的怙主上师。他以不同语言宣讲了许多法惠及了难以数计的人。八思巴也撰写了许多法典论述、实修指导守则和佛法问答。八思巴也创造了 “八思巴文”。

 

铁阳龙年(公元1280)的十一月二十二日清晨,致力多年的利生事业圆满了,法王八思巴双盘金刚跏趺坐,双手交持金刚铃杵,天乐自然响起、未名的香气旖旎氤氲、神奇的花朵沐浴般从天空洒下,他示现了圆寂,享年四十五。

萨迦·赤千法王:八思巴不仅是一个伟大的上师,

而且是一个真正的佛,即是化为人身的佛

“当时有许多人批评八思巴参与宗教以及世俗活动。他们也(设法用自己认为合理的方式)对他做了一些测试(、观察和辨析)。当他们在前往去看究吉·八思巴时,正巧(在那里)遇到了一些年老的罗汉。这些老罗汉其实是受佛陀嘱托久住于世、利益众生的十六罗汉(有的经典说佛陀要求他们住世住持佛法直到释迦牟尼佛的教法完全灭尽才可以圆寂,有的经典中则说佛陀要求他们住世住持正法直到弥勒菩萨成佛为止)。这十六位罗汉居住在世界各地,传播佛法。这些(散居在世界各地的)十六罗汉恰好(不约而同地)在同一时间去拜见伟大的八思巴。亲眼看见这情景,那几个人的怀疑和困惑顿时被清除了,他们认同八思巴不仅是一个伟大的上师,而且是一个真正的佛,即是化为人身的佛。通过这种方式,我们可以看到并了解究吉·八思巴是多么伟大,因为他本人就是佛陀。 ”

-- 萨迦·赤千法王于2018年开示

连接
随喜关注我们的官方平台
  • TST Facebook Page
  • TST Youtube Channel
  • TST Instagram
  • weibo

版权归“萨迦传承”拥有© 2020

 The Sakya Tradition 

 

PO Box 410282 Cambridge, MA 02141 | |

The Fifth Sakya Patriarch –

Drogön Chögyal Phagpa

Brief Biography of Chögyal Phagpa

Drogön Chögyal Phagpa (Tibetan འགྲོ་མགོན་ཆོས་རྒྱལ་འཕགས་པ་ the Victory Dharma King – Protector of Beings) was born amid excellent signs in the Wood Female Sheep year (1235). His father was Sönam Gyaltsen and his mother was Machig Kunga Kyi. He was given the name Lödro Gyaltsen (སོག་བཟློག་པ་བློ་གྲོས་རྒྱལ་མཚན་ Wisdom of the Victory Banner) at birth.  He is the nephew of the Fourth Sakya Patriarch, Sakya Pandita.

 

Since very young, Chögyal Phagpa demonstrated outstanding intelligence and great knowledge in many areas, especially his ability of reading and writing in diverse scripts, without having been taught. For example, at the age of three, he recited the elaborate Hevajra sadhana by memory. Everyone present was very impressed and remarked that he was a true Phagpa (holy being). From then on, he was known as Phagpa and his fame was proclaimed everywhere.  

He spent all his time attending Sakya Pandita during their travels and residence in China, until the age of seventeen, Chögyal Phagpa left for Mongolia on his uncle’s behalf. (The then Prince Kublai sent an invitation letter to Sakya Pandita requesting for a meeting, but Sakya Pandita was sick and thus was unable to make the trip. Instead Chögyal Phagpa made the trip for him.) Sakya Pandita was very pleased with Chögyal Phagpa for having mastered the outer and inner Vajrayana teachings, and thus gave him a white conch to proclaim the Dharma and a begging bowl. Having entrusted his students to Chögyal Phagpa, the master said, “The time has come for you to teach, to benefit many sentient beings, and to recall your promise.” Then Sakya Pandita passed away, having accomplished all he had intended to do. In this way, Chögyal Phagpa succeeded Sakya Pandita as the Seventh Sakya Trizin. He also became the Fifth Sakya Patriarch. 

His Holiness the Sakya Trichen: How Vajrayana was Established in the

Mongol Empire for the First Time

 

Later, Kublai Khan invited Chögyal Phagpa to Mongolia. Kublai Khan’s consort, Queen Chabi already developed an unshakable devotion to Chögyal Phagpa. However, Kublai Khan only perceived Chögyal Phagpa as an extremely intelligent and young noble scholar. Queen Chabi was very devoted to Chögyal Phagpa. She requested for the Hevajra Empowerment. After receiving the empowerment, she was so impressed by Chögyal Phagpa that she requested Kublai Khan to receive the same teaching as well.

 

 

However Kublai Khan asked, “To receive such teaching, what commitment do I have to make?” Chögyal Phapga replied, “If you receive the empowerment then whatever the Guru (Spiritual Teacher) command, you have to follow; you have to always respect him like your crown.” After listening, Kublai Khan announced, “I cannot follow such instruction because I am the Emperor. So I am not going to receive the empowerment.” Queen Chabi who is very intelligent and capable suggested, “There is actually a method to do so. If it is a religious ceremony, Lama (Master) Chögyal Phagpa should always sit on a higher throne. If it is for the secular ceremony, then the Emperor will sit on a higher throne. Methods related to Tibet, whatever Lama Phagpa says, we should follow, but as for other affairs, the Lama should not interfere. So with this kind of arrangement Your Majesty will be able to maintain your samaya (vows to uphold after receiving tantric teachings).”

 

Chögyal Phagpa gave the Hevajra Empowerment three times to the Kublai Khan and the Royal Family along with the inner circle of attendants in total of twenty five initiates each time. (According to the traditional practice of the Sakya Tradition, the Hevajra Empowerment may only be given to not more than twenty-five first-time initiates each time.) At the first empowerment, Kublai Khan offered the main parts of Tibet as the empowerment offering. Few years later, he offered the entire Tibet to Chögyal Phagpa at the second empowerment. In ancient China, there was a practice where those with disabilities were not allowed to live. Since the country had a huge population, the number of lives taken due to this practice was massive. Kublai Khan made a promise to cease this practice as an offering to Chögyal Phagpa during the third empowerment. In this way, the Vajrayana teaching was established for the first time in the Mongol Empire. Mahayana Buddhism was already introduced in the Mongol Empire and China, but not Vajrayana Buddhism.

 

 

 

Although Kublai Khan and his family have received many teachings from Chögyal Phagpa, his devotion is not comparable with Queen Chabi. Therefore Queen Chabi personally went to Chögyal Phagpa and requested, “Lama Rinpoche, in order to make firm the Emperor's faith, please perform a miraculous feat. Unless you do so, there is the risk that his confidence will falter." After she made the request for the third time, Chögyal Phagpa established Kublai Khan’s faith by performing miracles; he showed each of the Five Buddha Families separately by cutting open the five limbs of his body with a sharp sword. (Everyone present including Kublai Khan was extremely shocked to see this; Kublai Khan immediately urged his teacher to stop the scene and declared that now he had unshakable faith and devotion towards his Lama.) 

 

 

Kublai Khan gave Chögyal Phagpa the title of “Tishri” (Imperial Preceptor) when Chögyal Phagpa was twenty-five. Kublai Khan suggested converting all the other Buddhist traditions to the Sakya tradition. Using the analogy of a table in which it can only function when all four legs exist, Chögyal Phagpa urged Kublai Khan to support, care, and propagate all the Buddhist traditions. Chögyal Phagpa has contributed immensely to the all traditions during that time. 

 

 

Chögyal Phagpa spread the Dharma in Tibet, China, and Mongolia, and became an abbot of four hundred thousand monks. He gave teachings in many languages and benefited many people. He also composed many texts of commentaries, practical instructions, and questions and answers. Chögyal Phagpa also invented the “Phagpa Script”. 

 

In the early morning of the twenty second day of the eleventh month of the Iron Male Dragon year (1280), when he was forty-five, having endeavored greatly to benefit others, Chögyal Phagpa sat cross-legged, holding his vajra and bell. With his arms crossed, and amid sounds, amazing scents, and a shower of flowers, he passed away. 

 

 

 

 

His Holiness the Sakya Trichen: Not Only Chögyal Phagpa Was a Great Master,

But a Real Buddha - Buddha in a Human Form 

“At that time there were some who were critical about Chögyal Phagpa’s involvement in both religious and secular activities. So these people wanted to test him. When they were heading to see Chögyal Phagpa, they also saw some old arhats. Lord Buddha assigned these sixteen arhats to benefit sentient beings. These sixteen arhats are residing in different parts of the world propagating the Buddha Dharma. So during that time these sixteen arhats also came to great Chögyal Phagpa. Through seeing this, the doubt and confusion of those people was cleared. They now believed that not only Chögyal Phagpa was a great master, but a real Buddha – Buddha in a human form. In this way, we could see and learn how great Chögyal Phagpa was as a Buddha in person.”

– His Holiness the Sakya Trichen, 2018

Quick Links

Connect with us

  • TST Facebook Page
  • TST Youtube Channel
  • TST Instagram
  • weibo

Copyright © 2020 by The Sakya Tradition  萨迦传承 

 

PO Box 410282 Cambridge, MA 02141 |